齐物等观

张尕

艺术总监/ 策展

世界是个物的世界。假如没有了物,也就失去了表述, 解读及评议,将不再有激发想象, 编织表象的意指,也将没有了社会和文化。 世界是个物的世界。汉语里, “物”即为“东西”, 是华人意念中“东”和“西”这横跨想象中地理两极间的无限。“物” 即“一切之所有。”

 

很久以来,“物”总是谦顺兼让,已彰显“人”之卓越。“物”义无反顾地成为人间戏剧的背景道具。“物”之背运显然是现代性所为,是启蒙运动之造化。启蒙运动构筑了一种以人为源的新的次序, 人成为万物之中心和尺度(海德格尔)。“物自体”(康德称我们无法认识物自体, 只能见其表象)必然成了逻辑的谬误, 因为“物”的存在只因人的存在而存在,才被赋予意义,“物”之存在因而被视而不见。海德格尔说,物总是默默地翘首待命, 以供使唤 ( readiness–to-hand) , 只有在其使用性出了故障, 干不了事的时候,物才显露出自身的存在( presence-at-hand )。

去思考“物自体”是个危险的差事, 因为这会冒犯启蒙精神及其人类主体之许诺:这一规范现代世界之政治合法性和文化生产的前提。尽管这个许诺早以因大规模的恐怖(无数次的杀戮与掠夺)而透支。 后现代对于种族,性别的争战,后殖民身份政治以及多元文化的盛行亦导致了主体的瓦解,但争论却从未离开过“我和你”这一永远内定的辩论主体, 辩方和控方从未离开过人的法庭。

有别于启蒙原理的另一种逻辑,以其推测式(Speculative Realism) 的论辩为特征,正在悄然涌现。其或将是一剂摆平历史之解药,绕过人文主义不休的争论, 将主体之界延展至物的世界。物之界已然在望。平反物之失去的身份,让物之沉默重新发声,给予物的世界在人的世界里一个合法的位置有其道义的缘由及文化所指。将有生命的与无生命的, 有机的与无机的, 人类与非人类结盟,一个多重的民主或许打破对于公平之理想主义和实用主义之解读的相互指责所带来的窒息。重新启动物的世界宣称了有关平等的全新的本体论。“齐物平等”(庄子“齐物论)先行排除了主体与客体的对抗,以及“我与它” 间无尽的冲突及由此而来必然的抑迫。“齐物平等”悬置了代表和身份之不可调和的文化纷争。身份的述求, 代表的批判面对无可逆转的温室效应和生态危机,已然显得脆弱而苍白。

在这新启示的努力中,一个被遮蔽的现实得以显现:以人性(humanity)和技术性 (technicity) 互为构成,相得益彰的技术现实 (technical reality)是人类现实 (human reality)不可分割的共同体, 并借由这一认知,我们开始领悟一个由物(physical being),器(technical being), 人(human being) 以等同意义所构成的新世界格局。技术(器)既作为物之一员,也作为人与物之中介有着富有解放力的潜能。

本次展览展现的, 如布努偌·拉图(Bruno Latour)所建议,正是这样一个包容各式各样(物作为)行为者(Actant) 的齐物等观的世界:鲜活而富有灵感,真实而栩栩如生。技术以能动的样式在此或是将人类中心说颠覆的出其不意的候选者:“物”借由“器”得以显现自在,自主,自生及自创,从而让人唤发出意动之肌肤之感。在这物界的集合体中,它们表演亦互动,独白或对话,抑或众声喧哗。庆祝物的世界展现了一个可能的机遇来激活文化生产唯人而事的僵化,赋与其一个更宽广的运作空间,开放一个新的探讨的氛围,带给艺术新的实验形态,构建美学表述新的词语。

thingworld

ZHANG Ga
Artistic Director / Curator

 

The world is a thingWorld. For without things there would be nothing to describe, to interpret, to comment on, there would be no evocative signifiers that trigger imagination, conjure up representation, neither would there be societies nor cultures. The world is a thingWorld. In Chinese language, the word for “thing” is a compound of the characters East and West, a geographic stretch across the infinite space of two imaginary ends in the ancient mind. Thing is everything.

 

For a long time, this salience of thing has been sequestered in order to foreground the primacy of man. Thing has unequivocally become a mise en scene as that which services the drama of humanity. The plight of thing certainly is a construction of modernity, as a product of the Enlightenment which constituted a new order of things predicated on the subjectum with man as the center and measure of all beings (Heidegger), “ding an sich” (Kant) therefore is a logical fallacy for how else can thing be of any purpose except for that of man? A thing being can only make sense for a human being and has always remained visibly absent, as Heidegger has amply discussed its readiness–to-hand and its subjugated substance until its mishap of presence-at-hand of malfunction, of being kaput reveals the substrate of thing.

 

Thinking thing as thing unto itself (ding an sich) is a precarious proposition, one that agitates the promise of the Enlightenment and of the human subject rendered through the a priori that destines the legitimacy of political constructs and cultural production of the modern world. Although the capital on that account has been long overdrawn by the dissipation of the grand narrative in the wake of the horror of inhumanity, through the postmodern demystification of subjectivity in the wake of gender, racial and sexual struggles and the pluralism purchase of the contemporary, but the dispute has never left the “I and You”, the subjects that immanently assumed power of discourse, the subjectum. The prosecution and verdict have never left the courtroom of the human habitat.

 

Another logic that is skeptical of the Enlightenment axiom, a speculative argument by character is emerging as an antidote for setting the score correct, one that circumvents the vicious cycle of the debate of humanism to extend the subject world to the world of object, the thingWorld is on the horizon. To rehabilitate the lost status of things, to make heard the reticence of things, to restore to its proper place in the human world a thing world, has political consequences and cultural implications. In aligning the animate and the inanimate, organic and inorganic, human and nonhuman, a democratic multiplicity may rupture the stasis fraught of the vehement bickering between idealism and realism in the exegesis of equity. The re-initiation of the thingWorld proclaims a radical ontology of equality. Equality of Everything thus forecloses the interminable contention of subject and object, of the “I and Other” and the repressive corollary therefrom; Equality of Everything suspends the irreconcilable cultural feud waged in the battle of representation and identity whose frivolity is made ever more pronounced in the face of irrevocable global warming and ecological predicament that the hubris of the human world is accounted for.

 

In this re-illuminating endeavor, there has brought into light a hitherto undisclosed reality: the technical reality, of which it is a transduction reciprocally constituted of humanity and technicity, and via this imperative recognition, we begin to appreciate a new world order composed of physical being, technical being and human being (Simondon) of equal bearing. Technology here reinstates itself a liberating potential as thing itself as well as a mediating negotiator between the human world (as human extension) and the thing world.

 

This exhibition shows such promising comingling of a world of actants, as Latour would suggest, of all kinds, animated, alive, present. Technology (as the reciprocal transduction of humanity and technicity) with its initiating modality may be the surprise candidate to turn anthropocentrism on its head: physical being via technical being achieve their own vivid presences, their own agency and autopoiesis, their own generativity, thereby evoking a conative viscerality for the human being. They act and interact, dialogue and monologue, or chorus in the assemblage of the thingWorld. In celebration of thingWorld, there emerges opportunity to reinvigorate the impasse of cultural production that is contingent solely on the premise of human subject with a much-expanded field of operation; there will be a newly found world of discussions, concerns to give rise to new forms of artistic experimentation and a new vocabulary of aesthetic manifestation.

 

Part I  Monologue – Ding an Sich

Part II Dialogue – Ding to Thing

Part III Ensemble – Parliament of Things